## RESOLUTION ON ASSISTANCE TO THE NEWLY INDEPENDENT STATES

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Twenty-Fifth Ordinary Session in Kampala, Uganda, from 18 to 25 July 1975,

<u>Hailing with profound satisfaction</u> the accession to independence of Mozambique, Cape Verde Islands, Comoro Islands and Sao Tome and Principe,

**Noting** that it is through immense human and material sacrifices that the peoples of these territories have attained their national sovereignty,

<u>Conscious</u> of the difficulties inherent in the decolonization process a national reconstruction with which these new States are confronted,

**Considering** that this courageous and victorious struggle of these territories has facilitated their attainment of international sovereignty,

<u>**Desirous**</u> of providing every possible assistance to these new states to consolidate and strengthen their hard-won independence,

- DECIDES to set up a special assistance fund for the four newly independent states;
- 2. **DECIDES** that this fund will be financed by voluntary contribution from:
  - OAU Member States
  - Non-African governmental and non-governmental Organizations
  - Various Arab Funds for Co-operation and development
  - Countries that are friends of Africa;
- 3. **URGENTLY** appeals to all OAU Member States to contribute to this fund as soon as possible;

4. **REQUESTS** the Administrative Secretary-General to take the necessary steps to set up the fund and ensure its operation as soon as possible, as well as the coordination of aid.