## RESOLUTION ON THE DIVISION OF AFRICA INTO FIVE REGIONS

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Twenty-Sixth Ordinary Session in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 23 February to 1 March 1976,

**Recalling** discussions, since the Ninth Ordinary Session of the OAU Assembly of Heads of State and Government, on the principle of increasing the number of regions of Africa to five and in resolution CM/Res. 472 (XXVI) on the same question,

<u>Cognisant</u> of the fact that there are similarities in nature and extent of certain problems facing particular regions in Africa,

**Aware** of OAU policy to encourage viable economic development projects on a regional basis,

<u>Desirous</u> that there shall be an equitable, geographical distribution of representation, on a regional basis, of all OAU Member States in the UN, UN Specialized Agencies, other International Organizations and OAU Institutions,

1. **TAKES NOTE** of the Administrative Secretary-General's study and the replies and observations by Member States to the questionnaire of the General Secretariat on this matter;

## 2. **DECIDES THAT:**

- (a) there shall be FIVE Regions of the OAU namely, Northern, Western, Central, Eastern and Southern.
- (b) the Administrative Secretary-General establishes the composition of the above five regions in consultation with individual Member States and to submit a report to the Twenty-Seventh Ordinary Session of OAU Council of Ministers.