RESOLUTION ON THE ISLANDS OF GLORIOUS, JUAN DE NOVA, EUROPA AND BASSAS DA INDIA

The Council of Ministers of the organization of African Unity meeting in its Thirty-third Ordinary Session in Monrovia, Liberia, from 6 to 20 July 1979;

Recalling Resolution CM/Res. 642 (XXXI) on the Islands of Glorieuses, Juan de Nova, Europa and Bassas da India;

Having considered the Secretary-General's report on these islands;

Recalling the United Nations General Assembly Declaration 1514 (XV) of 14 December 1960;

Considering that these islands geographically and historically belongs to Africa in accordance with sub-paragraph 2 of Article 1 of the Charter of the Organizations of African Unity;

Recalling that these islands during the colonial era formed a single political and administrative entity within the territory then known as "Madagascar and Dependencies";

Considering the fact that the former colonial power arbitrarily separated these islands from Madagascar by an official decree of 1 April 1960 when Madagascar was about to achieve independence on 26 June 1060:

- DECLARE that the Island of Glorieuses, Juan de Nova, Europa and Bassas da India are integral parts of the national territory of the Democratic Republic of Madagascar;
- CALLS UPON the French Government to return the Island in question to the Democratic Republic of Madagascar and to resume negotiations immediately with the Government of Madagascar;

- 3. **REQUESTS** the French Government of make the necessary arrangements to repeal the measures taken by the French authorities, measures which impair the sovereignty of the Democratic Republic of Madagascar and to refrain from taking other measures which may affect the good relations between the two countries;
- 4. **DEMANDS** that all foreign powers withdraw from these islands;
- 5. **REQUESTS** the Secretary-General of the OAU, and the African Group at the United Nations to make sure that the question of the islands around Madagascar, until their complete recovery by Madagascar, be a permanent item in the Agenda of the United Nations, the Movement of the Non-Aligned States and any other appropriate conference in which African States participate.

Reservations: Ivory Coast, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Cameroun, Zaire, Central African Empire, Comoro, Rwanda, Wogo and Mauritania.