## Resolution on the Reconstitution of the Resolutions Committee - ACHPR/Res.537 (LXXIII) 2022

Dec 12, 2022

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 73rd Ordinary Session from 20 October to 9 November 2022 in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa pursuant to Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter) and Rule 3 of its 2020 Rules of Procedure;

Considering Rule 25(1) of its 2020 Rules of Procedure which stipulates that the «Commission can create subsidiary mechanisms such as Special Rapporteurs, Committees and Working Groups »;

Recalling the importance of the Resolutions adopted by the Commission in taking into account the human rights situations on the Continent with a view to formulating guidelines and recommendations on the promotion and protection of the rights guaranteed by the African Charter;

Recalling also its Resolution ACHPR/Res.338 (LVIII) 16 on the establishment of a Committee on Resolutions (Committee), adopted during its 58th Ordinary Session held from 6 to 20 April 2016 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Further recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res. 390(LXI) 2017, ACHPR/Res. 465 (LXVI) 2020 and ACHPR/Res. 496 (LXIX) 2021 on the renewal of the mandate and reconstitution of the Committee:

Noting with appreciation the work done by the Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso and all the former chairpersons in the discharge of its mandate;

Considering that the mandates of the Chairperson and the other Members of the Committee has come to an end;

Considering also the need to allow the Committee to continue fulfilling its mandate;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures on the Special Mechanisms of the Commission (the SOPs on Special Mechanisms) adopted at its 27th Extraordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular the guidelines set out in the SOPs on Special Mechanisms, including the general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition of the mechanisms, the appointment of members and the duration of their mandate as well as the code of conduct for mandate holders;

Further noting the decisions taken during this 73rd Ordinary Session regarding the allocation of responsibilities among the Commissioners;

Decides to renew, for a period of two years, with effect from 9 November 2022, the mandate of:

- i. Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso, Chairperson of the Committee;
- ii. Commissioner Janet Ramatoulie Sallah-Njie, Vice-Chairperson;
- iii. Commissioner Ourveena Geereesha Topsy-Sonoo, Member; and
- iv. Commissioner Idrissa Sow, Member.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 9 November 2022