RESOLUTION ON THE OAU CO-ORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR THE LIBERATION OF AFRICA

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Ninth Ordinary Session in Kinshasa, Congo, from 4 to 10 September 1967,

<u>Considering</u> the OAU Charter as well as the resolution which set up the Coordinating Committee and the Special Fund for the Liberation of Africa,

Noting that progress made by African nationalists in their fight against the colonial and racial powers who occupy their territories,

<u>Considering</u> the need to strengthen the armed struggle advocated by the liberation movements,

<u>Having Noted</u> the report of the Co0ordinating Committee for the Liberation of Africa;

DECIDES to submit to the Assembly of Heads of State and Government the following recommendations:

- 1. To condemn unreservedly the desperate attempts of colonialists and neocolonialists who threaten the independence of African countries and try to slow down the process of decolonization on the African continent;
- 2. To condemn the United Kingdom's complicity in the Rhodesian crisis, and of the negotiations started between Ian Smith and the United Kingdom Government;
- 3. To condemn NATO and the governments which continually aid Portugal in its repression of the efforts exerted by liberation movements;
- 4. To urge all OAU Member States to co-operate with the liberation movements of dependent countries in their struggle;

- 5. To appeal to all Member States to increase the resources made available to liberation movements. In this context, Member States should at least pay their arrears into the Special Fund;
- 6. To device a new strategy for the liberation of African territories still under foreign domination, bearing in mind the renewed insidious attempts made by imperialism, colonialism and neo-colonialism as well as racial discrimination;
- 7. To continue OAU efforts to establish a United front of all liberation movements, which is more necessary than ever in order to thwart any new offensive by Africa's enemies;
- 8. To set up an <u>ad hoc</u> Committee of Experts to assist the armed struggle in African territories which are not yet independent. The Committee would be composed of Algeria, Cameroon, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo-Kinshasa, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, the UAR and Zambia.