RESOLUTION ON SOUTH WEST AFRICA

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Eight Ordinary Session in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 27 February to 4 March 1967,

Recalling its former resolution CM/Res. 87 of November 1966 on the question of South West Africa.

Recalling further the General Assembly resolution 1514 (XV) of 14 December 1960 and resolution 2145 (XXI) of 27 October 1966 and in particular operative paragraph 4 and 6 terminating the mandate conferred upon His Britannic Majesty to be exercised on his behalf by the Government of South Africa in respect of South West Africa, and establishing an <u>Ad Hoc</u> Committee for South West African composed of fourteen Member States of the United Nations.

- EXPRESSES is satisfaction at the decision of the United Nations which terminated the mandate of South Africa over the territory of South West Africa and established <u>Ad Hoc</u> Committee of Member States to study the ways and means of administering the territory;
- 2. **ENCOURAGES** the Members of the United Nations <u>Ad Hoc</u> Committee for South West Africa in their efforts which will enable the people of South West Africa to exercise their right to self-determination and to achieve independence;
- 3. **APPROVES AND SUPPORTS** fully the memorandum concerning the creation of a machinery of South West Africa presented on 10 February 1967 by Ethiopia, Nigeria, Senegal and the United Arab Republic, the African members of the <u>Ad</u> Hoc Committee on South West Africa;
- 4. **PLEDGES** its support and requests the United Nations to take all necessary measures towards the achievement of self-determination and independence for the territory of South West Africa;

- 5. **REQUESTS** the Security Council to apply Chapter VII of the United Nations Charter in the event of South Africa refusing to comply with the decision of the United Nations to hand over the administration of the territory;
- 6. **STRONGLY CONDEMNS** the Government of the Republic of South Africa for extending its oppressive policy to the territory of South West Africa and the activities of foreign financial and industrial interests whose continued commercial relations and investments in South Africa enable the Government of South Africa to persist in its policy of apartheid and racial discrimination;
- 7. **CALLS UPON** all States to prevent these foreign interest from collaborating with the Government of the Republic of South Africa in its oppressive and discriminatory policies against the African people in that territory.