RESOLUTION ON THE RECONSTITUTION OF MEMBERS OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE OF THE SPECIAL EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE FUND

FOR DROUGHT AND FAMINE IN AFRICA

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Forty-eighth Ordinary Session, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 19 to 23 May 1988,

<u>Having considered</u> Document CM/1501 (XLVIII) relating to the reconstitution of membership of the Policy Committee of the Special Emergency Assistance Fund for Drought and Famine in Africa,

<u>Recalling</u> Resolutions AHG/Res.133 (XX), CM/Res.962 (XLI) and CM/Res.1006 (XLII) regarding the modalities for the operation of the Fund,

<u>Considering</u> the Statutes of the Special Fund and, particularly the provisions of Article 7 Paragraphs 3 and 4 and Rules 2 paragraph (i) and (ii) of the Rules of Procedure of the Policy Committee of this Fund:

- DECIDES to renew the composition of the Policy Committee of the Special Emergency Assistance Fund for Drought and Famine in Africa as follows: Algeria, Burundi, Chad, Ghana, Guinea, Lesotho, Libya, Mozambique, Nigeria, Senegal, Uganda, Tanzania and Zimbabwe;
- SPECIFIES that the mandate of the 6 new Member States will start as from the Seventh Session of the Policy Committee scheduled for December 1988 for a period of 3 years;
- 3. FURTHERMORE DECIDES that pursuant to the Statutes of the Fund, elections for the renewal of the composition of the Policy Committee will be held on the following years 1988 1991 1994 for the renewal of the 6 member States; 1989 1992 1995 for the renewal of the remaining 7 Member States;

4. URGENTLY APPEALS to all Member States to contribute voluntarily to the Fund and to those who have made pledges to honor them without further delay.