Resolution on the Scientific Council for Africa (CSA)

CM/Res.1507 (LIX)


The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Fifty-ninth Ordinary Session in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia from 31 January to 4 February 1994,

Conscious of the role Science and Technology play and should continue to play in the process of socio-economic development of Member States,

Noting the efforts deployed by OAU to integrate Science and technology into its development activities,

Considering the importance of coordination and cooperation in the formulation of Scientific and Technical Policy,

Recalling its Resolution CM/Res.7 (I) as well as its decision taken at its Fifty-first Ordinary Session as contained in Document CM/Plen/Rpt. (LI) especially Para.92, (c), v, thereof,

Reaffirming its commitment to the principles and objectives of the OAU Charter, the Lagos Plan of Action and the final Act as well as the Treaty Establishing the African Economic Community,

Having considered the report of the Secretary-General on “The Constitution of the new Scientific Council for Africa (CSA)” – (Doc.CM/1816 (LIX):

  1. APPROVES the new composition of the African Scientific council in accordance with the decision of the Fifty-first Ordinary Session of the Council of Ministers (Addis Ababa, February 1990), as contained in the attached list for a period of four years;

  1. REQUESTS the Secretary-General to take all necessary measures to ensure that the newly constituted African Scientific Council meet as early as possible in order to assist the General Secretariat in the definition of new guidelines for the OAU Scientific policy in anticipation of the establishment of the African Economic Community and to submit a report to the Sixtieth Ordinary Session of the council.

Page 2


  1. Prof. Mohamed L. ABDELMOUMENE (Algeria)

  2. Prof. Aly HEBESH (Egypt)

  3. Prof. Ms. Deborah Enilo AJAKAIYE (Nigeria)

  4. Dr. Jacques FAYE (Senegal)

  5. Prof. Adjei BEKOE (Ghana)

  6. Prof. Mrs. Martha-Manuella VAN-DUNEN/BATALA (Angola)

  7. Prof. Levy MAKANY (Congo)

  8. Prof. Thomas ODHIAMBO (Kenya)

  9. Prof. Mrs. Martha ANDRIANTSIFERENA (Madagascar)

  10. Prof. Ms. Lydia MAKHUBU (Swaziland)

  11. Dr. Benjamin VENGESA (Zimbabwe)

▲ To the top