RESOLUTION ON THE QUESTION OF THE COMORIAN ISLAND OF MAYOTTE

The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Sixty-first Ordinary Session in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 23 to 27 January 1995,

Bearing in mind Resolution CM/Res.496 (XXVII) establishing the OAU Ad-Hoc Committee of Seven on the Question of the Comorian Island of Mayotte,

Recalling the relevant OAU resolutions on the Comorian Island of Mayotte particularly Resolution AHG/Res.193 (XXVI),

<u>Recalling further</u> the relevant resolutions and recommendations of the United Nations, the Non-Aligned Movement, the Islamic Conference and the League of Arab States on the Question of the Comorian Island of Mayotte,

<u>Considering</u> the fundamental principles of the OAU Charter on the sovereignty and territorial integrity of States,

Reiterating the legitimate claims of the Government of the Comoros regarding the re-integration of the Co9morian Island of Mayotte into the Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros,

Recalling the programme of action recommended by the OAU Ad-Hoc Committee as contained in Document Cttee.7/Mayotte/Rec.109 (11) adopted in Moroni in November 1981 :

1 REAFFIRMS the sovereignty of the Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros over the Comorian Island of Mayotte;

- 2 REAFFIRMS ITS SOLIDARITY with the people of the Comoros in their determination to recover their political integrity and to defend the sovereignty and territorial integrity of their country;
- 3 REAFFRIMS that the referendum for self-determination held on 22 December 1974 remains the only valid form of (consultation ??) applicable to the entire archipelago;
- 4 CONDEMNS the introduction of entry visas into Mayotte for Comorian citizens from the other three sister Islands;
- APPEALS to all OAU Member States and the International Community to condemn and disregard any action which could be taken by France to force the Comorian Island of Mayotte to participate in events where distinction could be made between the latter and the Federal Republic of the Comoros;
- 6 CALLS ON the WHO Region Director for Africa to reject the candidature for the readmission of France to membership of the WHO Regional Committee on behalf of the Comorian Island of Mayotte;
- 7 CONDEMNS the European Union's consideration of the Comorian Island of Mayotte as a French entity and the assistance it intends to provide it as an extension of the French Republic;
- 8 REQUESTS the ACP countries and the Member States of the OAU to oppose and condemn these initiatives which undermine the territorial integrity of the Islamic Federal Republic of the Comoros;
- 9 CALLS ON the OAU <u>Ad-Hoc</u> Committee of Seven on the Question of the Comorian Island of Mayotte and the OAU Secretary-General to revive the

dialogue with the French authorities taking into account the Moroni Declaration of June 1990, with a view to resolving urgently the Question of the Comorian Island of Mayotte;

10 URGES the OAU <u>Ad-Hoc</u> Committee of Seven on the Question of the Comorian Island of Mayotte and the Secretary-General of the OAU to convene in Moroni before the Thirty-first Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government to consider ways and means of facilitating the holding of a tripartite conference.