DECISION ON THE APPOINTMENT OF THE MEMBERS OF THE PANEL OF THE WISE OF THE AFRICAN UNION

The Assembly,

- 1. **RECALLS** the provisions of Article 11 of the Protocol Relating to the Establishment of the Peace and Security Council (PSC) of the African Union (AU), which deals with the Panel of the Wise, as well as Decision Assembly/AU/ Dec.310(XV) adopted at its 15th Ordinary Session held in Kampala in July 2011;
- 2. TAKES NOTE of the end of the term of the current members of the Panel of the Wise (the late former President Ahmed Ben Bella of Algeria, Dr. Salim Ahmed Salim of Tanzania, former President Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia, Mrs. Marie Madeleine Kalala-Ngoy of the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Mrs. Mary Chinery Hesse of Ghana) and PAYS TRIBUTE to them for the dedication with which they discharged their mandate;
- **3. REITERATES** the critical role of the Panel of the Wise in the overall efforts of the AU towards conflict prevention, in line with the relevant provisions of the PSC Protocol;
- 4. ENDORSES, in conformity with Article 11 (2) of the PSC Protocol, the recommendations made by the Chairperson of the Commission regarding the appointment of the new members of the Panel of the Wise. Accordingly, the Assembly **DECIDES** to appoint the following personalities as members of the Panel of the Wise for a period of three years:
 - for the Northern Africa region, Mr. Lakhdar Brahimi from Algeria. Mr. Brahimi held senior positions, notably as Ambassador to several countries, from 1963 to 1979, and Foreign Minister, from 1991 to 1993. He also held senior positions in the League of Arab States and the United Nations, including as Special Envoy;
 - for the Western Africa region, Mr. Edem Kodjo from Togo. Mr. Kodjo has been Finance and Foreign Minister from 1976 to 1978, as well as Prime Minister, from 1994 to 1996. He also served as Secretary- General of the Organization of African Unity from 1978 to 1983;
 - iii) for the Central Africa region, Eng. Albina Faria Assis Pereira Africano from Angola. Eng. Africano has been Minister of Petroleum from 1992 to 1999 and Minister of Industry from 1999 to 2000. She also held the position of Special Advisor to the President for Regional Affairs;
 - iv) for the Eastern Africa region, Dr. Speciosa Wandira Kazibwe from Uganda. Dr. Wandira Kazibwe has been Minister of Gender and Community Development from 1991 to 1994, Member of Parliament and, from 1994 to

2003, Vice-President of Uganda. She also chaired the African Women Committee on Peace and Development;

- v) for the Southern Africa region, Dr. Luisa Diogo from Mozambique. Dr. Diogo held several ministerial portfolios. She was Deputy Minister of Finance, then Finance Minister. From 2004 to 2010, she served as Prime Minister.
- **5. FURTHER DECIDES** that the outgoing members of the Panel of the Wise shall become members of the Team of Friends of the Panel, in line with its decision Assembly/AU/Dec.310(XV) and the related report of the Chairperson of the Commission;
- 6. **REQUESTS** the Chairperson of the Commission to ensure that the required support is availed to the Panel of the Wise to enable it fully discharge its mandate, particularly through proactive preventive engagement.