## <u>ACHPR/RES.81(XXXVIII)05:</u> RESOLUTION ON THE COMPOSITION AND RENEWAL OF THE MANDATE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS/COMMUNITIES IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights meeting at its 38<sup>∗</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 21 November to 5 December 2005;

**Recalling** its Resolution Ref. ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the adoption of the Report of the African Commission's Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities adopted at its 34<sup>a</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 6 to 20 November 2003;

**Recalling** that the African Commission established a Working Group composed of six members, amongst them, two Members of the African Commission;

**Noting** that the African Commission entrusted the Working Group with a mandate for an initial period of two years;

**Considering** that the initial term of two years of the Working Group comes to an end during the 38<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights;

**Commending** the continuous assistance of the International Working Group on Indigenous Affairs (IWGIA) to the activities of the Working Group;

**Appreciating** the work undertaken by the Working Group during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

**Recognising** further the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of the rights of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the necessity to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

## **Decides to:**

- Extend the mandate of the Working Group for a period of two years with effect from 5 December 2005;
- Designate Commissioner Kamel Rezag Bara as Chairperson of the Working Group; and
- Appoint Commissioner Musa N Bitaye as Member of the Working Group.