## ACHPR/Res.123(XXXXII)07: RESOLUTION ON THE COMPOSITION AND RENEWAL OF THE MANDATE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS/COMMUNITIES IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission or ACHPR) meeting at its  $42^{\text{M}}$  Ordinary Session held from 15 - 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

**Recalling** its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Recalling** its Resolution Ref. ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the adoption of the Report of the African Commission's Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities adopted at its 34<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 6 – 20 November 2003;

**Recalling** that the African Commission established a Working Group composed of six members, amongst them, two Members of the African Commission;

**Noting** that the African Commission entrusted the Working Group with a mandate for an initial period of two years;

**Considering** that the term of the Working Group comes to an end on 5th December 2007;

**Considering further** that the term of Ambassador Mohamed Kamel Rezag-Bara as a Member of the African Commission along with his mandate as a Member and the Chairperson of the Working Group have come to an end on 28 November 2007;

**Appreciating** the work that Ambassador Mohamed Kamel Rezag-Bara has done as a Member and Chairperson of the Working Group;

**Commending** the work undertaken by the Working Group during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

**Recognizing** the adoption by the UN General Assembly of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples on 13 September 2007;

**Recognizing further** the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of the rights of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the necessity to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

## **Decides to:**

- Extend the mandate of the Working Group for a period of two years with effect from 28<sup>th</sup> November 2007;
- Designate Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye as Chairperson of the Working Group;
- Designate Commissioner Mumba Malila as a member of the Working Group;
- Designate Commissioner Soyata Maiga as a member of the Working Group;
- Appoint Dr. Albert Barume and Mr. Melakou Tegegn as expert members of the Working Group; and
- Maintain the membership of the following experts:
  - Mr. Mohammed Khattali;
  - Ms. Marianne Jensen;
  - Mr. Mr. Zephyrin Kalimba; and
  - Dr. Naomi Kipuri.