## <u>ACHPR/Res.155 (XLVI)09:</u> RESOLUTION ON THE RENEWAL OF THE MANDATE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS/COMMUNITIES IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission) meeting at its 46th Ordinary Session held from 11 - 25 November 2009, in Banjul, The Gambia;

**Considering** its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Recalling** its Resolution Ref. ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the Report of the African Commission's Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities adopted at its 34<sup>a</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 6 – 20 November 2003;

**Bearing in mind** Resolution ACHPR/Res.123 (XXXXII) 07 on the Composition and Renewal for a period of two years the Mandate of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa adopted at its 42<sup>-st</sup> Ordinary Session held from 15 - 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

**Recalling** that the African Commission established a Working Group composed of nine members, amongst them, three Members of the African Commission;

**Noting with Appreciation** the work that Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye has done as a Member and Chairperson of the Working Group;

**Further Noting** that the term of the Chairperson and members of the Working Group comes to an end on 5 December 2009;

**Commending** the work undertaken by the Working Group during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

**Recognizing further** the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of the rights of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the necessity to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

## Decides to:

- i. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye as Chairperson of the Working Group;
- ii. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Soyata Maiga as a member of the Working Group;

- iii. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Mumba Malila as a member of the Working Group;
- iv. Maintain the membership of the following experts:
  - Mr. Mohammed Khattali;
  - Ms. Marianne Jensen;
  - Mr. Zephyrin Kalimba;
  - Mr. Melakou Tegegn
  - Dr. Naomi Kipuri.
  - Dr. Albert Barume