## <u>ACHPR/Res.172 (XLVIII) 10:</u> RESOLUTION ON THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE PROTECTION OF THE RIGHTS OF PEOPLE LIVING WITH HIV (PLHIV) AND THOSE AT RISK, VULNERABLE TO AND AFFECTED BY HIV

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission), meeting at its 48th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 10 - 24 November 2010;

**Recalling** its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Bearing in mind** its Resolution *ACHPR/Res163 (XLVII) 2010* adopted at its 47<sup>+</sup> Ordinary Session on the Establishment of a Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living With HIV (PLHIV) and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV;

**Recognizing** that the success of the Committee depends on the strong commitment of its members, including their expertise to carry out its specific milestones and address urgent issues falling within this mandate

**Decides** to appoint the following experts, as members of the Committee for a period of two years effective 24 November 2010:

- 1. M. Alain Patrick Le Doux Fogue Dzutue ; Cameroun
- 2. Mme Agnès Atim ; HRDI
- 3. M. Christian Garuka Nsabimana ; Rwanda
- 4. M. Tope Ebenezer Durojaye ; Nigeria
- 5. Mme Nicolette Naylor Merle ; SouthAfrica
- 6. M. Patrick Eba Michel ; UNAIDS

**Requests** the Committee to present its activity report at each Ordinary Session.