<u>ACHPR/Res.204 (L) 11:</u> RESOLUTION ON THE APPOINTMENT OF THE CHAIRPERSON AND MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP ON INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS/COMMUNITIES IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Commission) meeting at its 50th Ordinary Session held from 24th October to 5th November 2011, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Considering its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling that the African Commission established a Working Group composed of nine members, amongst them, three Members of the African Commission;

Recalling its Resolution Ref. ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the Report of the African Commission's Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities adopted at its 34th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 6 – 20 November 2003;

Bearing in mind Resolution ACHPR/Res.123 (XXXXII) 07 on the Composition and Renewal for a period of two years the Mandate of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa adopted at its 42rd Ordinary Session held from 15 - 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

Recalling further ACHPR/Res.155 (XLV1) 09, adopted during the 46th Ordinary session of the African Commission held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 11th 25th November 2009, renewing the mandate the Working Group on Indigenous Population/Communities in Africa;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

Noting further that the term of the Chairperson and members of the Working Group has come to an end;

Recognizing further the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of the rights of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the necessity to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

- i. Appoint Commissioner Soyata Maiga as Chairperson of the Working Group;
- ii. Appoint Commissioner Lucy Aswagbor as a member of the Working Group;

- iii. Appoint Commissioner Pacifique Manirakiza as a member of the Working Group;
- iv. Maintain the membership of the following experts:
 - Mr. Mohammed Khattali;
 - Ms. Marianne Jensen;
 - Mr. Zephyrin Kalimba;
 - Mr. Melakou Tegegn
 - Dr. Naomi Kipuri.
 - Dr. Albert Barume

The mandate of the Working Group is 2 years and shall take effect on 5 November 2011

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 05 November 2011