ACHPR/Res.220 (LI) 2012: RESOLUTION ON THE EXTENSION OF THE MANDATE OF THE COMMITTEE ON THE PROTECTION OF THE RIGHTS OF PEOPLE LIVING WITH HIV (PLWHIV), AND THOSE AT RISK, VULNERABLE TO AND AFFECTED BY HIV IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Commission) at its 51<sup>st</sup> Ordinary Session held from 18 April - 2 May 2012 in Banjul, The Gambia;

**Recalling** its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

**Considering** that as part of fulfilling its mandate, the African Commission established various mechanisms for the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa;

**Recognizing** that the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights has the fundamental role to protect vulnerable groups in Africa from human rights violations;

**Further recalling** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.163 (XLVII) 10, adopted at the 47<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session of the African Commission on the establishment of a Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLWHIV), and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV;

**Further recalling** its Resolutions ACHPR/172 (XLVIII) 10 and ACHPR/Res.195 (L) 11 on the appointment of Members of the Committee and that of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as the Chairperson of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLWHIV), and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV in Africa;

**Noting** with satisfaction the work accomplished by the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLWHIV), and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV in Africa;

**Further noting** that the mandate of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV, and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV/AIDS and that of its Members cometo an end during this Session:

**Bearing in mind** the need for the Committee to continue with its activities and implement the action plan it adopted recently;

**Decides** to extend the mandate of the Committee and the following members for another term of two years with effect from 2 May 2012:

- a. Commissioner members of the Committee:
  - 1. Honourable Commissaire Lucy ASUAGBOR, the Chairperson;
  - 2. Honourable Reine ALAPINI GANSOU, Member;
  - 3. Honourable Soyata MAIGA, Member;
- b. Experts Members of the Committee:
  - 1. Mme Agnès ATIM APEA (Uganda);
  - 2. M. Patrick Michael EBA (Côte d'Ivoire);
  - 3. M. Patrick Le doux DUTZUE FOGUE (Cameroon);
  - 4. M. Christian GARUKA NSABIMANA (Rwanda);
  - 5. Mme Nicolette MERELE NAYLOR (South Africa);
  - 6. M. Ebenezer TOPE DUROJAYIE (Nigeria);

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 2 May 2012