ACHPR/Res.249 (LIV) 2013: RESOLUTION ON THE RENEWAL OF THE MANDATE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON INDIGENOUS POPULATIONS/COMMUNITIES IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (The Commission), meeting at its 54th Ordinary Session from 22 October to 5 November 2013 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (The African Charter);

Recalling that the Commission established a Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa composed of ten members, including three members of the Commission;

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the report of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities adopted at its 34th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia from 6 to 20 November, 2003;

Mindful of Resolution ACHPR/Res.123 (XXXXII) 07 on the composition and renewal of the mandate of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa for a period of two years, adopted at its 42rd Ordinary Session held from 15 to 28 November, 2007 in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.155 (XLV1) 09 and Resolution ACHPR Res.193 (L) 11, adopted by the Commission during its 46th and 50th Ordinary Sessions respectively, renewing the mandate of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa;

Noting with satisfaction the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Soyata Maiga during the last two years in the discharge of its mission;

Further noting that the mandate of the Chairperson and members of the Working Group has come to an end;

Further recognizing the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides *to* renew for a period of two years, with effect from 5 November 2013, the mandate of:

- xi. **Commissioner Soyata Maiga** as Chairperson of the Working Group;
- xii. Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor and Commissioner Pacifique Manirakiza as members of the Working Group;
- xiii. the following experts:
- 17. Mr Mohammed Khattali;
- 18. Ms Marianne Jensen;
- 19. Dr Melakou Tegegn;
- 20. Dr Naomi Kipuri;
- 21. Dr Albert Barume;
- 22. Mr Lesle Jansen; and
- 23. Ms Hawe Bouba.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 5 November 2013