ACHPR/Res.252 (LIV) 2013: RESOLUTION ON THE RENEWAL OF THE MANDATE OF THE WORKING GROUP ON ECONOMIC, SOCIAL AND CULTURAL RIGHTS IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 54th Ordinary Session held from 22 October to 5 November 2013 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Recalling its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights in Africa under the

African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.73 (XXXVI)04 to establish the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights adopted at its 36th Ordinary Session held in Dakar, Senegal from 23 November to 7 December, 2004, and which also defines its mandate;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.147 (XLVI) 09, on the appointment of Commissioner Mohamed Bechir Khalfallah as Chairperson of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.193 (L) 11 on the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa;

Considering the Principles and Guidelines on the Implementation of Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in the African Charter and the State Party Reporting Guidelines on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa (Nairobi Principles);

Mindful of Resolution ACHPR/Res.236(LIII) 2013 on the illicit flight of capital from Africa which requires the Working Group and the Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Violations of Human Rights in Africa to undertake an indepth study on the impact of illicit capital flight on human rights in Africa;

Noting with appreciation the work carried out by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Mohammed Béchir Khalfallah during the last two years;

Noting that the mandate of the Working Group has come to an end;

Considering the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to renew for a period of two years, with effect from 5 November 2013, the mandate of:

- i. Commissioner Mohammed Bechir Khalfallah as Chairperson of the Working Group;
- ii.Commissioner Soyata Maiga and Commissioner Maya Sahli-Fadel as members;

Further decides to renew, for an interim period of one year, the mandate of the following members:

- A Representative of the OHCHR;
- A Representative of the UNECA -GPAD;
- A Representative of INTERIGHTS;
- A Representative of the Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa; and
- A Representative of the Centre for Human Rights of the University of Pretoria.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 5 November 2013