ACHPR/Res.270 (LV) 2014: RESOLUTION APPOINTING EXPERT MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP ON DEATH PENALTY AND EXTRAJUDICIAL, SUMMARY OR ARBITRARY KILLINGS IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 55th Ordinary Session held from 28 April to 12 May 2014 in Luanda, Angola

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling its decision adopted at its 37th Ordinary Session to appoint two Commissioners to work with the Special Rapporteur on Prisons and Conditions of Detention in Africa to prepare a Discussion Paper on the Question of the Death Penalty in Africa;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.79(XXXVIII) 05 on the Composition and Operationalization of the Working Group on the Death Penalty adopted at its 38th Ordinary Session in order to increase the composition of the Working Group to include two members of the Commission and five independent experts and to broaden its mandate;

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.113(XXXXII) 07 on the Renewal of the Mandate and the Appointment of Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie as Chairperson of the Working Group on the Death Penalty, adopted at the 42nd Ordinary Session held from 15 to 28 November 2007 in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo;

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.201 (L) 11 on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Chairperson and the Appointment of Members of the Working Group on the Death Penalty in Africa, adopted at its 50th Ordinary Session held from 22 October to 5 November 2011 in Banjul, The Gambia, renewing the mandate of the Working Group for two years;

Bearing in mind its Resolution ACHPR/Res.227 (LII) 2012 expanding the mandate of the Working Group to include extrajudicial, summary or arbitrary killings adopted at its 52nd Ordinary Session held from 9 to 23 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d'Ivoire;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.251 (LIV) 2013 on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Chairperson and Members of the Working Group on Death Penalty and Extrajudicial,

Summary or Arbitrary Killings in Africa, adopted at its 54th Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2013 in Banjul, The Gambia, renewing the mandate of the Working Group for two years;

Noting the reduced number of members of the Working Group following the lack of active participation of two experts since October 2013 and *conscious* of the need to appoint two new members to replace them;

Recognising that seventeen (17) States Parties to the African Charter have already abolished the death penalty and that twenty (20) others have established a moratorium on the execution of the death penalty;

Recognising the importance of the work of the Working Group on Death Penalty and Extrajudicial, Summary or Arbitrary Killings in Africa and the need to enable the Working Group to continue to effectively implement its mandate;

Conscious of the need to ensure a fair representation taking into account the various geographical regions, languages and legal systems;

- Decides to appoint the following expert members of the Working Group for a period of two years: Mr Bouzenia Fares (Algeria), in replacement of Ms Alya Cherif Chammari (Tunisia), and Mr Sêgnitondji Isidore Clément Capo-Chichi (Benin), in replacement of Mr Moctar Diallo (Senegal);
- 2. **Requests** the African Union to provide the Working Group with the necessary resources, assistance and support for the implementation of this Resolution;
- 3. **Calls upon** other partners to continue to assist the Working Group in the implementation of its mandate.

Adopted at the 55th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights held from 28 April to 12 May 2014 in Luanda, Angola