<u>ACHPR/Res.279 (LV) 2014:</u> Resolution on the Extension of the Mandate of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People living with HIV, and those at Risk, Vulnerable to and affected by HIV in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission) at its 55 "Ordinary Session held from 28 April to 12 May 2014, in Luanda, Angola;

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Considering that as part of fulfilling its mandate, the African Commission established various mechanisms for the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa;

Recognizing that the Commission has the fundamental role to protect vulnerable groups in Africa from human rights violations;

Further Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.163 (XLVII) 10, adopted at the 47th Ordinary Session of the Commission on the establishm ent of a Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLHIV), and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV (the Committee);

Further Recalling its Resolutions *ACHPR/172 (XLVIII) 10* and *ACHPR/Res.195 (L) 11* on the appointment of Members of the Committee and Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as the Chairperson of the Committee, as well as its Resolution *ACHPR/Res. 220 (LI) 12* renewing the mandate of the Committee;

Noting with satisfaction the work accomplished by the Committee;

Further noting that the mandate of the Committee and that of its Members came to an end during this Session, on 2 May 2014;

Bearing in mind the need for the Committee to continue carrying out its mandate and address the urgent issues falling within its mandate ;

Decides to extend the mandate of the Committee and the following members for another term of two years with effect from 12 May 2014:

a.) Commissioner members of the Committee:

1. Honourable Commissioner Lucy ASUAGBOR, the Chairperson; 2. Honourable Commissioner Reine ALAPINI GANSOU, Member; and 3. Honourable Commissioner Soyata MAIGA, Member;

b.) Experts Members of the Committee:

- 1.Mrs. Agnes ATIM APEA (Uganda);
- 2.Mr. Patrick Michael EBA (Côte d' Ivoire);
- 3.Mr. Patrick Le doux DUTZUE FOGUE (Cameroon);
- 4.Mr. Christian GARUKA NSABIMANA (Rwanda); and
- 5. Mr. Ebenezer TOPE DUROJAYIE (Nigeria).

Adopted at the 55th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights in Luanda, Angola, 28 April to 12 May 2014