## ACHPR/Res.296 (EXT.OS/XVII) 2015: RESOLUTION ON THE APPOINTMENT OF EXPERT MEMBERS OF THE WORKING GROUP ON ECONOMIC, SOCIAL AND CULTURAL RIGHTS IN AFRICA

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 17<sup>th</sup> Extraordinary Session held from 19 to 28 February 2015 in Banjul, The Gambia;

**Recalling** its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Recalling** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.73 (XXXVI) 04 on the creation of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights adopted at its 36<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held from 23 November to 7 December 2004, in Dakar, Senegal;

*Further recalling* its Resolution ACHPR/Res.147 (XLVI) 09, appointing Commissioner Mohammed Bechir Khalfallah Chairman of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa;

**Bearing in mind** its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.193 (L) 11 and ACHPR/Res.252 (LIV) 2013 relative to the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa;

Considering the Principles and Guidelines on the implementation of the Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in the African Charter (Tunis Principles and Guidelines) and the Guidelines on the submission of Reports of States Parties on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights in Africa (Nairobi Principles);

*Further noting* that the mandate of the Expert Members has expired and cognizant of the fact that the success of the Working Group also depends on the commitment and expertise of these Experts;

**Convinced** of the need to appoint Expert Members acting on an individual basis to guarantee the continuity and smooth operation of the Working Group;

**Concerned** about the need to guarantee equal representation, taking into account in particular gender balance and the diversity of the geographical regions, languages and legal systems;

**1. Decides** to appoint the following persons as Expert Members of the Working Group for a period of one year:

- i. Pr. Frans Viljoen
- ii. Mr. Ibrahima Kane
- iii. Mr. Chafi Bakari
- iv. Mr. Gaye Sowe
- v. Mrs. Salima Namusobya
- vi. Mrs. Nadia Ait-Zai
- vii. Mr. Martial Jeugue Doungue
- viii. Mr. Sidi Tidiane Gueye
- ix. Mrs. Helene Ramos dos Santos
- 2. **Calls on** the partners and other stakeholders to continue providing support to the Working Group to enable it accomplish its mandate.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia on 28 February 2015