## ACHPR/Res.314 (LVII) 2015: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Communications

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 57<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held from 4 to 18 November 2015 in Banjul, The Gambia;

**Recalling** its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Noting** its protection mandate which involves the consideration of Communications alleging human rights violations against States Parties to the African Charter, pursuant to Articles 47 and 55 of the African Charter;

**Noting** its Resolution ACHPR/RES.194 (L) 11 adopted at its 50<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 October to 5 November 2011 establishing a Working Group on Communications and appointing its members;

**Noting also** its Resolution ACHPR/RES.212 (EXT.OS/XI) 12 adopted at its 11<sup>th</sup> Extraordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 21 February to 1 March 2012 defining the mandate of the Working Group on Communications;

**Further recalling** its Resolution ACHPR/RES.255 (LII) 12 on the extension of the mandate and modification of the composition of the Working Group on Communications adopted at its 52<sup>nd</sup> Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d'Ivoire;

**Further recognising** the importance of the work of the Working Group on Communications;

**Noting** with satisfaction the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor in her capacity as Chairperson of the Working Group;

**Considering** that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Working Group comes to an end on 5 November 2015;

**Recognising** the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

## **Decides** to:

**Re-appoint Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor** as the Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of two years, with effect from 5 November 2015;

Renew for the same period the mandate of Commissioner Reine Alapini Gansou and Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen as members of the Working Group;

**Appoint** for the same period **Commissioner Jamesina E.L. King** and **Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso** as members of the Working Group;

**Renew** for the same period the mandate of the support team of the Working Group at the Secretariat as follows:

- i. The Secretary to the Commission as Coordinator of the support team;
  - ii. Two (2) Senior Legal Officers; and
  - iii.Two (2) Legal Officers.

Adopted at the 57<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 4 to 18 November 2015