ACHPR/Res.322 (LVII) 2015: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 57th Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 4 to 18 November 2015;

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Bearing in mind Article 5 of the African Charter which enshrines the right to the respect of the dignity inherent in a human being and prohibits all forms of exploitation and degradation of man, particularly slavery, slave trade, torture, cruel, inhuman or degrading punishment and treatment;

Recalling the Guidelines and Measures for the Prevention of Torture, Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment in Africa (the Robben Island Guidelines) adopted at the Commission's 32nd Ordinary Session, held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 17 to 23 October 2002;

Further recalling the establishment of the Robben Island Guidelines Follow-Up Committee in 2004 with the mandate to give effect to the implementation of Article 5 of the Charter and the Robben Island Guidelines;

Considering Resolution ACHPR/Res158 (XLVI) 09, that changed the name of the Robben Island Follow-up Committee to the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa;

Taking account of Resolution ACHPR/Res.254 (LIV) 13 on the Appointment of the Chairperson and Renewal of the Mandate of the Members of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa, adopted at its 54th Ordinary Session held from 22 October to 5 November 2013, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa under the leadership of the Chairperson of the Committee, Commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute, since his appointment on 5 November 2013;

Noting that the mandate of the Chairperson and members of the Committee has come to an end;

Considering the need to allow the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa to continue carrying out its mandate and address urgent issues falling within its mandate;

The Commission decides to:

- i. Renew the appointment of Commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute as Chairperson of the Committee for a period of two years;
- ii. Renew for the same period the mandate of **Commissioner Med. S. K. Kaggwa** and **Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor** as members of the Committee;
- iii. Appoint **Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso** as a member of the Committee for the same period; and
- iv. Maintain for the same period, the membership of the following experts:
 - Mr Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero Vice Chairperson;
 - Ms Hannah Forster Member; and
 - Mr Malick Sow Member.

Adopted on 17 November 2015 at the 57th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, held from 4 to 18 November 2015 in Banjul, The Gambia