ACHPR/Res. 352 (EXT.OS/XX) 2016: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of Expert Members of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 20th Extraordinary Session held from 09 to 18 June 2016 in Banjul, Islamic Republic of The Gambia;

Recognizing its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Considering that as part of fulfilling its mandate, the Commission has established various mechanisms for the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa;

Recognizing that the Commission has a fundamental role to protect vulnerable groups in Africa from human rights violations;

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.163 (XLVII) 10 adopted at the 47th Ordinary Session of the Commission on the establishment of a Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLHIV) and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV (the Committee);

Further recalling, its resolutions ACHPR/Res.172 (XLVIII) 10 and ACHPR/Res.195 L. 11 respectively on the appointment of members of the Committee and Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as the Chairperson of the Committee, as well as its resolutions ACHPR/Res.220 (LI) 12 and ACHPR/Res. 279 (LV) 14 renewing the mandate of the Committee and its members;

Bearing in mind its resolutions ACHPR/Res. 285 (EXT.OS/XVI) 14 on the Appointment of an Expert Member of the Committee and ACHPR/Res.325(LVII) 15 on the Appointment of Commissioner Soyata Maiga as the Chairperson of the Committee;

Noting with satisfaction the work accomplished by the expert members;

Further noting that the mandate of expert members expired in May 2016 and **bearing in mind** the need for the Committee to continue carrying out its mandate and address the urgent issues falling within its mandate;

Mindful of the expressions of continued interest and commitments by the Expert Members in contributing their expertise to the implementation of the mandate of the Committee, and also **Recognising** the need to align and ensure uniformity in the duration of the membership of the Commitee;

Decides to renew the membership of the following experts until **18** November 2017;

- 1. Mrs Agnes ATIM APEA;
- 2. Mr Patrick Michael EBA ;
- 3. Mr Patrick Le doux DUTZUE FOGUE ;
- 4. Mr Christian GARUKA NSABIMANA;
- 5. Mr Ebenezer TOPE DUROJAYE ; and
- 6. Mrs Ann STRODE.

Done in Banjul, Islamic Republic of The Gambia, on 18 June 2016