ACHPR/Res. 353 (EXT.OS/XX) 2016: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate of the Expert Members of the Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 20th Extra-Ordinary Session in Banjul, Islamic Republic of the Gambia, held from 09 to 18 June 2016:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Bearing in mind all relevant regional and international human rights instruments, specifically Articles 21 and 24 of the African Charter, on the right of all peoples to freely dispose of their wealth and natural resources, and to a generally satisfactory environment favourable to their development;

Recalling its previous Resolutions on the need for an improved protection of human rights and the environment, especially through improving the regulatory framework for the activities of the extractive industries, developing effective continental mechanisms for monitoring the human rights impact of the activities of the extractive industries and the development of jurisprudence on holding non-state actors accountable for human rights violations in Africa;

Recalling in particular, Resolution ACHPR/Res. 148(XLVI) 2009, establishing the Working Group on Extractive Industries, Environment and Human Rights Violations in Africa (the Working Group), as well as Resolution ACHPR/Res.236 (LIII) 2013 on the Illicit Flight of Capital from Africa, and Resolution ACHPR/Res.271 (LV) 2014 on Climate Change in Africa, by which the Commission has tasked the Working Group with additional responsibilities of conducting an in-depth study on the impact of the illicit flight of capital on human rights in Africa, and an indepth study on the impact of climate change on human rights in Africa;

Mindful of the ongoing efforts of the Working Group with regard to its mandates and the conduct of the various studies, and also **Noting** with satisfaction the work accomplished by the Working Group up-to-date;

Recognizing the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.268 (LV) 2014 appointing the current Expert Members for the Working Group, and **Noting** that the mandate of the Expert Members of the Working Group came to an end on 12 May 2016;

Further Recalling Resolution ACHPR/Res.321(LVII)2015 appointing Commissioner Solomon Dersso as the new Chairperson of the Working Group, as well as Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen, and Commissioner Jamesina E.L King as Members of the Working Group, for a period of two years with effect from 18 November 2015;

Mindful of the expressions of continued interest and commitments by the Expert Members in contributing their expertise to the implementation of the mandate of the Working Group, and also **Recognising** the need to align and ensure uniformity in the duration of the membership of the Working Group;

Decides to renew the membership of the following experts until **18 November 2017**;

- 1. Mr. Clement Voulé;
- 2. Ms. Valerie Couillard;
- 3. Professor Michelo Hansungule;
- 4. Ms. Sheila Keetharuth;
- 5. Mr. Eric Kassongo Kalonji; and
- 6. Professor James Gathii.

Done in Banjul, Islamic Republic of The Gambia, on 18 June 2016