ACHPR/Res.382 (LXI) 2017: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission) meeting at its 61<sup>st</sup> Ordinary Session held from 1<sup>st</sup> to 15<sup>th</sup> November 2017, in Banjul, The Gambia:

**Considering** its mandate to promote human and peoples' rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

**Recalling** that the Commission established a Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities (the Working Group) composed of ten members, amongst them, three Members of the Commission;

**Further recalling** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.65 (XXXIV) 03 on the Report of the Commission's Working Group adopted at its 34<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 6 to 20 November 2003;

**Recalling** Resolutions ACHPR/Res.123 (XXXXII) 2007; ACHPR/Res.155 (XLV1) 2009; ACHPR/Res.204 (L) 2011; ACHPR/Res.249 (LIV) 2013 and ACHPR/Res.323

(LVII) 2015, all on the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group for periods of two years;

**Bearing in mind** ACHPR/Res.237 (LIII) 2013, ACHPR/Res. 329 (EXT.OS/XIX) 2016

and ACHPR/Res. 354(LIX) 2016, all appointing new expert members for the Working Group;

**Noting** with appreciation the work undertaken by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Soyata Maiga during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

**Noting** further that the term of the Chairperson and members of the Working Group has come to an end;

**Acknowledging** the contribution of the outgoing member of the Working Group, Commissioner Reine-Alapini Gansou, and mindful of the need to fill the vacated position;

**Recognizing** the importance of the work of the Working Group in the promotion and protection of the rights of indigenous populations/communities in Africa and the necessity to allow the Working

Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

## **Decides**

to:

- i. **Renew** the mandate of **Commissioner Soyata Maiga** as Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of two years effective 15 November 2017;
- ii. Renew the mandate of Commissioner Jamesina E.L. King as a member of the Working Group for the same period;
- iii. **Appoint Commissioner Remy Ngoy Lumbu** as a member of the Working Group for the same period;
- iv. **Renew** for the same period the mandate of the following experts:
  - Dr. Albert Barume
  - Ms. Marianne Jensen
  - Dr. Melakou Tegegn
  - Ms Hawe Bouba
  - Ms Lesle Jansen
  - Mr Belkacem Lounes
  - Dr Kanyinke Sena

## Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017