ACHPR/Res. 383(LXI) 2017: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLHIV) and those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission) meeting at its 61st Ordinary Session held from 1st to 15th November 2017, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (the African Charter);

Considering that as part of fulfilling its mandate, the Commission has established various mechanisms for the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa;

Recognizing that the Commission has a fundamental role to protect vulnerable groups in Africa from human rights violations;

Recognising further that people living with HIV and those at risk are currently one of the most vulnerable groups exposed to serious violations of human rights in Africa;

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.163 (XLVII) 10 adopted at the 47th Ordinary Session of the Commission on the establishment of a Committee on the Protection of the Rights of People Living with HIV (PLHIV) and Those at Risk, Vulnerable to and Affected by HIV (the HIV Committee);

Further recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.172 (XLVIII) 10 and ACHPR/Res. 285 (EXT.OS/XVI) 2014, all appointing members for the HIV Committee:

Bearing in mind its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.195 (L) 11 and ACHPR/Res.325 (LVII) 15 on the Appointment of the various Chairpersons of the HIV Committee:

Considering its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.220 (LI) 2012, ACHPR/Res.279 (LV) 2014, and ACHPR/Res. 352(EXT.OS/XX) 2016, all on the renewal of the

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the HIV Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Soyata Maiga in the discharge of its mandate;

Further noting that the term of the Chairperson and members of the HIV Committee has come to an end;

Recognizing further the importance of the HIV Committee in the promotion and protection of the rights of People living with HIV (PLHIV)

and those at Risk,

Vulnerable to and affected by HIV in Africa and the necessity to allow the HIV Committee to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

- Renew the mandate of Commissioner Soyata
 Maiga as Chairperson of the HIV Committee for a period of two years effective 15 November 2017;
- Renew for the same period the mandate of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as member of the HIV Committee; and
- iii. **Renew** for the same period the mandate of the following experts:
 - Mrs. Agnes ATIM APEA;
 - Mr. Patrick Michael EBA;
 - Mr. Patrick Le doux DUTZUE FOGUE;
 - Mr. Christian GARUKA NSABIMANA;
 - Mr. Ebenezer TOPE DUROJAYE; and
 - Ms. Ann STRODE

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017