ACHPR/Res. 385(LXI) 2017: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Communications

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (Commission), meeting at its 61st Ordinary Session held from 1 to 15 November 2017 in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Noting its protection mandate which involves the consideration of Communications alleging human rights violations against States Parties to the African Charter, pursuant to Articles 47 and 55 of the African Charter;

Noting its Resolution ACHPR/RES.194 (L) 11 adopted at its 50th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 October to 5 November 2011 establishing a Working Group on Communications and appointing its members;

Noting also its Resolution ACHPR/RES.212 (EXT.OS/XI) 12 adopted at its 11th Extraordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 21 February to 1 March 2012 defining the mandate of the Working Group on Communications;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/RES.255 (LII) 12 on the extension of the mandate and modification of the composition of the Working Group on Communications adopted at its 52nd Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d'Ivoire;

Recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.255 (LIV) 13 and ACHPR/Res.314 (LVII) 15 on the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group for two-year periods;

Further recognising the importance of the work of the Working Group on Communications;

Noting with satisfaction the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor in her capacity as Chairperson of the Working Group;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Working Group has come to an end;

Recognising the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

- Renew the mandate of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor as the Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of two years, with effect from 15 November 2017;
- ii. Renew for the same period the mandate of Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen and Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as members of the Working Group;
- iii. **Appoint** for the same period the following Commissioners as members of the Working Group:
 - Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie;
 - Commissioner Lawrence Murugu Mute;
 - Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu; and
 - Commissioner Maria Teresa Manuela

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017