ACHPR/Res. 462 (LXVI) 2020: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate, Appointment of the Chairperson and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Communications

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 66th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 13 July to 7 August 2020:

**Recalling** its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

**Noting** its protection mandate which involves the consideration of Communications alleging human rights violations against State Parties to the African Charter, pursuant to Articles 47 and 55 of the African Charter;

**Noting** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.194 (L) 11 adopted at its 50<sup>th</sup> Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 October to 5 November 2011 establishing a Working Group on Communications (Working Group) and appointing its Members;

**Noting also** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.212 (EXT.OS/XI) 2012 adopted at its 11<sup>th</sup> Extra-Ordinary Session held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 21 February to 1 March 2012 defining the mandate of the Working Group;

**Recalling** its Resolution ACHPR/Res.255 (LII) 2012 on the extension of the mandate and modification of the composition of the Working Group adopted at its 52<sup>--</sup> Ordinary Session held from 9 to 22 October 2012 in Yamoussoukro, Côte d'Ivoire;

**Further Recalling** its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.255 (LIV) 2013 and ACHPR/Res.314 (LVII) 2015 on the renewal of the mandate of the Working Group for two-year periods;

**Further recalling** Resolution ACHPR/Res.385 (LXI) 2017 on the Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group;

**Recalling** Resolution ACHPR/Res.425 (LXV) 2019 which renewed the mandate of all its Special Mechanisms, including the Working Group for a period of six (6) months, with effect from 10 November 2019;

**Recognising** the importance of the work of the Working Group;

**Noting** with satisfaction the work done by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner Lucy Asuagbor in her capacity as Chairperson of the Working Group;

**Considering** that the mandate of the Chairperson and the Members of the Working Group has come to an end;

**Bearing in mind** the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) relating to its Special Mechanisms, adopted during its 27<sup>th</sup> Extra-Ordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

**Noting in particular**, guidance provided by the SOPS on the working modalities of Special Mechanisms, general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition, appointment, tenure and conduct of mandate holders; as well as terms of office of Expert Members;

**Noting** the Final Communiqué of the 28th Extraordinary Session held from 29 June to 1 July 2020 wherein responsibilities were assigned to Commissioners:

## Decides to:

- Appoint Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie as the Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of two years, with effect from 1 July 2020;
- ii. **Appoint** for the same period **Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo** as Vice-Chairperson of the Working Group;
- iii. Renew for the same period the mandate of Commissioners Solomon Ayele Dersso, Rémy Ngoy Lumbu and Maria Teresa Manuela as Members of the Working Group.

Done virtually, 07 August 2020