ACHPR/Res. 463 (LXVI) 2020: Resolution on the Renewal of the Mandate, Appointment of the Chairperson and Reconstitution of the Working Group on Specific Issues related to the Work of the Commission

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 66th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 13 July to 7 August 2020:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Recalling its Resolution *ACHPR/Res.77 (XXXVII) 05* on the establishment of a Working Group on Specific Issues Related to the Work of the Commission (Working Group) adopted at its 37th Ordinary Session;

Mindful of its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.80(XXXVIII)05, ACHPR/Res.127(XXXXII)07, ACHPR/Res.150 (XLVI)09, ACHPR/Res.280 (LV) 2014, and ACHPR/Res.311 (LVII) 2015 on the Renewal of the Mandate and Composition of the Working group;

Recalling its Resolutions *ACHPR/Res*.233 (*EXT.OS/XIII*)13 and ACHPR/Res. 328 (EXT.OS/XIX) 2016 reconstituting the Working Group and modifying its mandate and composition;

Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res. 389(LXI) 2017 on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Working Group ;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Working Group under the leadership of Commissioner **Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie**;

Considering that the mandate of the Chairperson and the members of the Working Group has come to an end;

Recognizing the importance of the Working Group and the need to allow the Working Group to continue to carry out its mandate;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) relating to its Special Mechanisms adopted during its 27th Extra-Ordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular, guidance provided by the SOPS on the working modalities of Special Mechanisms, general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition, appointment, tenure and conduct of mandate holders;

Noting the Final Communiqué of the 28th Extraordinary Session held from 29 June to 1 July 2020 wherein responsibilities were assigned to Commissioners;

Decides to:

- i. Appoint Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo as Chairperson of the Working Group for a period of 2 years with effect from 1 July 2020;
- ii. Appoint for the same period Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as Vice-Chairperson of the Working Group;
- iii. Renew the mandate of Commissioners Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie and Maya Sahli Fadel as Members of the Working Group for the same period.

Done virtually, 07 August 2020