Resolution on the Reconstitution of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities and Minorities in Africa - ACHPR/Res. 497 (LXIX)2021

Dec 31, 2021

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 69th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 15 November to 5 December 2021;

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples' rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (African Charter);

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.51 (XXVIII) 2000 adopted during its 28th Ordinary Session, which established a Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities (the Working Group);

Further recalling its Resolutions ACHPR/Res.123 (XXXXII) 2007; ACHPR/Res.155 (XLV1) 2009; ACHPR/Res.204 (L) 2011; ACHPR/Res.249 (LIV) 2013, ACHPR/Res.323 (LVII) 2015, and Resolution ACHPR/Res.382(LXI) 2017; ACHPR/Res.237 (LIII) 2013; ACHPR/Res. 329 (EXT.OS/XIX) 2016; ACHPR/Res. 354(LIX) 2016; ACHPR/Res.425 (LXV) 2019; and ACHPR/Res.455 (LXVI) 2020; all respectively on the reconstitution of the Working Group, as well as the renewals of its mandate;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Working Group in the discharge of its mandate, under the leadership of Commissioner Alexia Amesbury, during her time of service to the African Commission;

Reaffirming the Commission's commitment to continue to promote and protect the rights of Indigenous Populations/Communities and Minorities in Africa and Recognising the importance and role of the Working Group in this regard;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures on the Special Mechanisms of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Standard Operating Procedures on Special Mechanisms) adopted by the Commission at its 27th Extraordinary Session; held from February 19 to March 4, 2020 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular the guidelines set out in the Standard Operating Procedures on Special Mechanisms, in particular the role and responsibilities, in general, of mandate-holders, the composition of Special Mechanisms, the appointment of members and the duration of their mandate as well as the code of conduct of mandate holders:

Further noting the decisions taken during the 69th Ordinary Session held from 15 November to 05 December 2021, regarding the allocation of responsibilities relating to Special Mechanisms among the Commissioners;

Decides to appoint and reconstitute the Membership of the Working Group as follows:

- a. Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso, Chairperson;
- b. Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo -Vice, Chairperson;
- c. Commissioner Remy Ngoy Lumbu, Member; and
- d. Maintain the Membership of Expert Members.

Done virtually, on 5 December 2021