DECISION ON APPOINTMENT OF AU COMMISSIONERS

The Assembly:

- **1. TAKES NOTE** of the election by the Executive Council of the AU Commissioners;
- **2. APPOINTS** the following persons as members of the Commission of the African Union:
 - a) Ambassador Said Djinnit (Algeria) Peace and Security Portfolio.
 - b) Mrs Julia Dolly JOINER (The Gambia) Political Affairs Portfolio.
 - c) Mr. Bernard ZOBA (Congo) Infrastructure and Energy Portfolio.
 - d) Ms Philomena B. GAWANAS (Namibia) Social Affairs Portfolio.
 - e) Mrs. Saida AGREBI (Tunisia) Human Resources, Science and Technology Portfolio.
 - f) Ms Elizabeth TANKEU (Cameroon) Trade and Industry Portfolio.
 - g) Ms. Rosebud KURWIJILA (Tanzania) Rural Economy and Agriculture Portfolio.
- **3. CONGRATULATES** the newly elected Commissioners of the African Union.
- **4. DECIDES** that the Commissioner for Economic Affairs Portfolio be elected in February 2004 for male candidates from Southern Region.
- **5. AUTHORIZES** the Executive Council to elect and appoint the Commissioner for Economic Affairs Portfolio during its 4th Ordinary Session and to report to the 3rd Ordinary Session of the Assembly.
- **6. DECIDES** that the elected Commissioners who did not take the Oath of Office during the Assembly do so before the Chairperson of the Commission.