DECISION ON THE SPECIALISED TECHNICAL COMMITTEES (STCS) DOC. EX.CL/496(XIV)

The Assembly:

- **1. TAKES NOTE** of the Report of the Commission on Specialised Technical Committees (STCs);
- 2. **DECIDES** to reconfigure the STCs as follows:
 - (1) Committee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Water and Environment;
 - (2) Committee on Finance, Monetary Affairs, Economic Planning and Integration;
 - (3) Committee on Trade and Industry and Minerals;
 - (4) Committee on Transport, Transcontinental and Interregional Infrastructures, Energy and Tourism;
 - (5) Committee on Gender and Women Empowerment;
 - (6) Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs;
 - (7) Committee on Social Development, Labour and Employment;
 - (8) Committee on the Public Service, Local Government, Urban Development and Decentralization;
 - (9) Committee on Health, Population and Drug Control;
 - (10) Committee on Migration, Refugees and IDPs;
 - (11) Committee on Youth, Culture and Sports;
 - (12) Committee on Education, Science and Technology;
 - (13) Committee on Communication and ICT;
 - (14) Committee on Defence, Safety and Security.
- **3. REQUESTS** the Commission to prepare a detailed breakdown of the financial implications of STCs meetings getting out the figures if the STCs were to be convened on an annual or biennial basis;

4. ALSO REQUESTS the Commission to prepare detailed activities of the STCs with a view to avoiding overlap and ensuring coherence and harmony with the portfolios of the Commission;

5. FURTHER REQUESTS the Commission to work with the Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC) and make appropriate recommendations on the periodicity of the meetings of the STCs to the next Ordinary Session of the Assembly through the Executive Council in July 2009.