DECISION ON ELECTION OF THE MEMBERS OF THE PEACE AND SECURITY COUNCIL OF THE AFRICAN UNION DOC. EX.CL/578(XVI)

The Executive Council,

- **1. TAKES NOTE** of the Report of the Commission on the Election of the Members of the Peace of Security Council of the African Union;
- **2. ELECTS** the following five (5) Members of the Peace and Security Council for a three-year term as of 1 April 2010:

Equatorial Guinea Central Region

Kenya Eastern Region

Libya Northern Region

Zimbabwe Southern Region

Nigeria Western Region

3. ALSO ELECTS the following ten (10) Members of the Peace and Security Council for a two-year term as of 1 April 2010:

Burundi Central Region

Chad

Djibouti Eastern Region

Rwanda

Mauritania Northern Region

Namibia Southern Region

South Africa

Benin Western Region

Cote d'Ivoire

Mali

4. RECOMMENDS the elected Members for appointment by the Fourteenth Ordinary Session of the Assembly.