## DECISION ON AFRICAN CANDIDATURES IN THE INTERNATIONAL SYSTEM Doc. EX.CL/821 (XXIV)

## The Executive Council,

- **1. TAKES NOTE** of the Report of the Ministerial Committee on African Candidates in the international system;
- **2. ENDORSES** the following candidatures:
  - i) as a member of the Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights of the United Nations, the candidature of Mr. Clement Atangana of the Republic of Cameroon for re-election and the candidature of Mr. Azzouz Kerdoun of the Republic of Algeria for re-election;
  - ii) the post of Secretary General of the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU), the candidature of Mr. Martin CHUNGONG of the Republic of Cameroon;
  - iii) as member of the UN Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, the candidature of Mr. Umaru Basharu of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the candidature of Mr. Pyaneandee Coomara of Mauritius;
  - iv) the post of Director General of the Organization of World Intellectual Property, the candidature of Mr. Geoffrey Onyeama of the Federal Republic of Nigeria;
  - v) the post of Judge of the International Criminal Court, the candidature of Mr. Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua of the Democratic Republic of Congo;
  - vi) as Judge at the International Tribunal of the Law of the Sea for the period 2014-2023, the candidature of Judge Albertus Jacobus Hoffmann of South Africa for re-election and the candidature of Judge James Luta Kateka of Tanzania for re-election.
- **3. ALSO ENDORSES** the candidature of the Republic of Angola for the position of non-permanent member of the Security Council of the United Nations for the period 2015-2016;

## 4. NOTES and DECIDES to differ:

i) The application of the Republic of Sudan for re-election and that of the Republic of Senegal for consultation within the Labour and Social Affairs Commission (LSAC) in accordance with Decision EX.CL.Dec.398 (XII) which requires that candidatures for positions within the International Labour Organization be subject for consideration by LSAC through the African Union Office in Geneva;

- ii) The candidature of Dr Fatoumate Nafo Traore of the Republic of Mali/The candidature of Dr. Matshidiso Moeti of the Republic of Botswana/The candidature of Professor Therese Aya N'Dri-Yoman of the Republic of Cote d'Ivoire; to the post of Regional Director of WHO to the June/July 2014 Session of the Committee;
- iii) The candidature of Eng. Shola Taylor of the Federal Republic of Nigeria / The candidature of Mr. Mongi Hamdi of the Republic of Tunisia / The candidature of Mrs. Fatimetou Mint Mohamed Saleck of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania to the post of Deputy Secretary General of the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) for the period 2014 2018 to the June/July 2014 Session of the Committee.
- **5. TAKES NOTE** and **DECIDES** to postpone to July 2014 and January 2015 the consideration of:
  - the candidature of the Republic of Senegal to the post of non-permanent member of the Security Council of the United Nations for the period 2016-2017;
  - ii) The candidature of Mr. Jeremiah Lengoasa of the Republic of South Africa to the post of Secretary General of the World Meteorological Organization for the period 2016 to 2020, during elections to be held in May 2015.
- **6. APPROVE** the Draft Revised Rules of Procedure of the Ministerial Committee on Candidatures in the international system.