Regulation C/REG.8/12/99 Relating to the Representation of West Africa on the Board of the Global Environment Facility

Economic Community of West African States

Regulation C/REG.8/12/99 Relating to the Representation of West Africa on the Board of the Global Environment Facility

The Council of Ministers,MINDFUL of Articles 10, 11 and 12 of the ECOWAS Revised Treaty establishing the Council of Ministers and defining its compositions and functions;MINDFUL of Regulation C/REG.14/12/95 relating to the representation of Member States of ECOWAS on the Board of the Global Environment Facility (GEF);MINDFUL of the Final Report of the Forty-fourth session of the Council of Ministers, held in Abuja from 18th to 20th August, 1999;ON THE RECOMMENDATION of the twenty-fourth meeting of the Administration and Finance Commission, held in Lome from 27th November to 3rd December, 1999.ENACTS

Article 1

The countries of West Africa are hereby constituted into two electoral colleges reflective of the two main ecological zones in the sub-region:
i)Electoral college A: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Niger, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal;
ii)Electoral college B: Benin, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Article 2

Only countries in the West African sub-region as contained on the list of the two electoral colleges A and B may represent West Africa on the Board of the Global Environment Facility (GEF).

Article 3

The two countries which currently represent West Africa as substantive members of the Board of the GEF, Burkina Faso and Cote d’Ivoire, shall occupy those seats until the end of their current tenure. Thereafter, they shall be replaced in 2001 by Senegal and Nigeria respectively.

Article 4

With effect from the year 2001, each country shall represent its group in accordance with the following established system of rotation.
i)Electoral college A:
Burkina Faso
ii)Electoral college B:
Sierra Leone
Cote d'Ivoire

Article 5

The posts shall rotate as from 2001 as follows:
i)the country following the substantive member country shall be the alternate member;
ii)the substantive member country shall be replaced at the end of its mandate by the alternate member;
iii)the country which has just finished its mandate shall be placed at the bottom of the list.

Article 6

The duration of the mandate shall be three years.

Article 7

The mandate of the Substantive or the Alternate shall not be renewable.

Article 8

The Member States and the Executive Secretariat shall take every necessary measure to ensure application of this Regulation.

Article 9

This Regulation shall be published by the Executive Secretariat in the Official Journal of the Community within thirty (30) days of its signature by the Chairman of the Council of Ministers. It shall also be published in the National Gazette of each Member State within the same time-frame.Done at Lome, This 7th Day of December, 1999.Abdoul Hamid S.B. DurodjayeChairman for Council
▲ To the top