South Africa

Disaster Management Act, 2002

Determination of Alert Levels and Hotspots

Government Notice 608-A of 2020

  • Published in Government Gazette no. 43364 on 28 May 2020

  • Assented to on 28 May 2020
  • Commenced on 28 May 2020

  • [Up to date as at 28 May 2020]
  1. [Repealed by Disaster Management Act: Regulations relating to COVID-19: Amendment (Government Notice 763 of 2020) on 12 July 2020]

I, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, designated under section 3 of the Disaster Management Act, 2002 (Act No. 57 of 2002), having declared a national state of disaster, published in Government Gazette No. 43096 on 15 March 2020, hereby in terms of regulation 3(1) of the Regulations issued by me under section 27(2) of the Disaster Management Act, 2002, after consultation with the relevant Cabinet members, determine as follows:(a)Alert Level 3 will apply nationally from 1 June 2020.(b)The following areas are declared as hotspots:

Geographical area or cluster of geographical areas declared as hotspots for COVID-19

Nelson Mandela Bay
Buffalo City
Cape Town
West Coast, Overberg and Cape Winelands district municipality
Chris Hani district in the Eastern Cape
iLembe district in KwaZulu-Natal

Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, MPMinister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

PDF icon 10937.pdf94.14 KB