Resolution on the Reconstitution of the Committee on Resolutions

Resolution on the Reconstitution of the Committee on Resolutions - ACHPR/Res. 496 (LXIX)2021

Dec 31, 2021

The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 69th Ordinary Session, held virtually from 15 November to 5 December 2021:

Recalling its mandate of promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter);

Considering Rule 23(1) of its Rules of Procedure which stipulates that the “Commission may create subsidiary mechanisms such as special rapporteurs, committees, and working groups”;

Recalling the importance of the resolutions adopted by the Commission in taking into consideration human rights situations on the continent towards formulating guidance and recommendations on the promotion and protection of the rights guaranteed by the African Charter;

Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.338 (LVIII) 16 on the establishment of the Committee on Resolutions adopted at its 58th Ordinary Session held from 6 to 20 April 2016 in Banjul, The Gambia;

Recalling further its Resolution ACHPR/Res. 390(LXI) 2017 and ACHPR/Res. 465 (LXVI) 2020 on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee on Resolutions;

Bearing in mind the Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) relating to its Special Mechanisms adopted during its 27th Extra-Ordinary Session held from 19 February to 4 March 2020, in Banjul, The Gambia;

Noting in particular, guidance provided by the SOPS on the working modalities of Special Mechanisms, general roles and responsibilities of mandate holders, the composition, appointment, tenure and conduct of mandate holders;

Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Committee on Resolutions under the leadership of Commissioner Jamesina E. L. King whose term has come to an end; and the need to allow the Committee on Resolutions to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to appoint and reconstitute the Membership of the Committee on Resolutions as follows:

i. Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso, Chairperson;

ii. Commissioner, Janet Ramatoulie Sallah-Njie, Vice-Chairperson;

iii. Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu, Member;

iv. Commissioner Marie Louise Abomo, Member;

v. Commissioner Ourveena Geereesha Topsy-Sonoo, Member; and

vi. Commissioner Idrissa Sow-Member.

Done virtually, on 5 December 2021

▲ To the top