Resolution on the Setting up of an AD Hoc Administrative Tribunal of the OAU

AHG/Res. 92(VIII)



The Council of Ministers of the Organization of African Unity, meeting in its Eight Ordinary Session in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, from 27 February to 4 March 1967,

Recalling resolution CM/59 passed by the Fourth Ordinary Session of the Council of Ministers in Nairobi, Kenya, in March 1965, which called upon the Secretariat to prepare and submit to the Council of Ministers, for consideration, draft statutes of an Administrative Tribunal for the Organization of African Unity,

Aware that although the Secretariat has submitted tot he Council its final draft since the Sixth Ordinary Session, no final decision has been taken by the Council,

Conscious of the need to provide the administrative staff of the Organization of African Unity with the traditional protection against any violation of the provision of the OAU Staff Rules and Regulations, and to ensure the observance of contract of employment and any other documentary proof of employment,

Aware also that the establishment of a regular administrative tribunal with regular judges and secretariat will entail additional financial expenses on the Member States of the OAU,


  1. To postpone the establishment of an Administrative Tribunal as called for in resolution CM/59(IV);

  1. That for the time being Ad Hoc Administrative Tribunal shall be established whose composition shall be based on the following:

    1. Each year, the Council of Ministers shall nominate three Member States according to alphabetical order, one of which shall be replaced annually;

    1. Each of the Member States so nominated shall appoint a qualified member of their respective delegations. Whenever the need arises, these members shall constitute an Administrative Tribunal at the end of any regular session;

    1. The Administrative Tribunal shall consider the appeals from the decisions of the Administrative Secretary-General, and give a decision on these appeals.

  1. That the Draft Statute of the Administrative Tribunal contained in document CM/99/Rev.2 shall be used as a basis by a Committee of five Member States consisting of Burundi, Congo (Brazzaville), Liberia, U.A.R., and Zambia in preparing the regulations and the rules of procedure for the conduct of the business of the sail Administrative Tribunal, according to the provisions of paragraph 2 above;

  1. That the final draft thus prepared shall be submitted to the Council of Minister at its next session.

▲ To the top